Browse By

Passenger amenities upgrade at 24 rail stations

Tourism and Railways Ministries to bear upgrade costs.

Passenger amenities are to be upgraded at 24 railway stations by Ministries of Tourism and Railways (MOR), said State for Railways Rajen Gohain in a written reply to a question in Lok Sabha on 26 July 2017.

Both the MOT and MOR will share the Rs.240 crore on 50:50 basis, saying the identified stations are popular among tourists.

The stations are identified on the basis of heritage and tourism importance of the station/destinations it caters to, he said.

The stations are:

Northern Railway — Amritsar, Delhi Safdurjung, Kurukshetra, Rai-Bareli, Haridwar and Varanasi;

Southern Railway — Thiruvananthapuram, Rameshwaram and Madurai;

East Central Railway – Gaya;

North Central Railway – Agra Cantt.;

North Western Railway – Jaipur and Ajmer;

East Coast Railway – Puri;

South Central Railway – Hyderabad, Tirupati, Nanded and Aurangabad;

South Western Railway – Hospet;

Northeast Frontier Railway – Kamakhya, Guwahati, and New Jalpaiguri;

Eastern Railway – Tarapith Road and Tarakeshwar

Except for Tarapith Road station, the others have been jointly inspected by the team of officers from MOR and MOT.

Share this post.Share on Facebook0Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedIn0Email this to someone

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *