Browse By

NTPC takes over three Bihar plants

Takeover to ensure efficiency and lower tariff



NTPC Limited is taking over Bihar’s three power generation facilities to help improve the performance of Power Sector in state.

NTPC is taking over Barauni Thermal Power Station (720 MW), Bihar State Power Generation Company’s (BSPGCL) equities in Kanti Bijlee Utpadan Nigam Limited (KBUN) and Nabinagar Power Generating Company (NPGC).

It has signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with Bihar government in Patna on 15 May 2018.

All the three power generation facilities are to be transferred to NTPC from the effective date to be notified by the Bihar government through a Statutory Transfer Scheme, said a release on the Press Information Bureau.

The transfer of these power stations to NTPC will result in their optimal and efficient utilization, bring the tariff down and benefit the people of Bihar at large.

Power from all the three power station will continue to be available to Bihar as it is.

NTPC is the largest power generating company of India with a total installed capacity of 53,651 MW (including JVs) from coal, gas, hydro, solar and wind power projects.

NTPC is on an accelerated growth trajectory to meet this long-term targets and currently has 21,071 MW capacity under construction. It has two operational coal mines.

Barauni Thermal Power Station (720 MW), at Begusarai district, comprises of Stage-I (2×110 MW) (under advance stages of R&M) and Stage-II (2×250 MW) (under construction).

NTPC with its expertise in construction of power projects and contract management capabilities is expected to complete the balance works and achieve sustained commercial operation of units in a time bound manner.

Nabinagar Power Generating Company (Pvt) Limited is a 50:50 Joint Venture Company of NTPC Limited and Bihar State Power Generation Company Limited (BSPGCL). The Company is developing a 1,980 MW (3×660 MW) Nabinagar Super Thermal Power Project in Aurangabad district. The project is currently under-construction.

Kanti Bijli Utpadan Nigam Limited (KBUNL) is a subsidiary company of NTPC Limited in Joint Venture with Bihar State Power Generation Company Limited (BSPGCL).

Currently NTPC and BSPGCL owns 72.64% and 27.36% equity holding in KBUNL, respectively. KBUNL owns and operates Muzaffarpur Thermal Power Station (MTPS) (2×110 MW+ 2×195 MW) situated at Kanti in Muzaffarpur district. The plant is under operation.

Share this post.Share on Facebook0Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedIn0Email this to someone

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *